History – United States Flag
Over 100 years later, on the 8th day of April 1875, the Uniontown Soldier’s Orphan School was transferred from the old Madison College site in Uniontown to Dunbar’s Camp, Jumonville. It was claimed, “There is no finer location for a school in all of Pennsylvania; and it is hoped when the school shall have finished its noble work, (June 10, 1908) an educational institution may still be continued in this charming spot.” The State sponsored the military school for children whose parents were killed or disabled in the Civil War and could not support or afford to educate them. (Artifacts of the school are also in the Jumonville museum in Ann Murphy.) The school house (now Captain Webb Hall) was probably built in 1875 and the chapel in 1882. The first school superintendent was Reverend Asa H. Waters from 1866-1890. He was succeeded by his son Reverend John A. Waters from 1890-1908.